flannel stash busting quilts and a sad story

I wanted to get another entry out before I went on vacation in a few days, and having this blog has given me the motivation I need to get the project ideas floating around in my head on paper (and hopefully, eventually in fabric).

A little backstory though. Last October I miscarried for the first time. Our baby left us sometime around 7 weeks, but I did not actually miscarry until what would have been ten weeks. It was a rough time for my husband and me, and I had a hard time bouncing back (as if to say one ever goes back to exactly how they were before; a sentiment I do not believe). I felt the need to create to work through it, but I didn’t really have an outlet that seemed to fit. I shut my etsy store down for a little while to focus on myself for a bit, and stopped sewing for a few months.

Then I started to have friends fall pregnant, and while it was bittersweet, I did feel happy for them, and looked forward to meeting their new babies. I started looking through quilt ideas again and planning. Then I decided to make a quilt for my son’s godfather, and for the first time in several months, I actually dug out fabric and started working. I opened up my shop again, and put my machine back to use.

This February my husband and I found out we were expecting again, and so I started to get really excited. I was on a good sewing groove by that point, and looked forward to making items for this baby.

But it was not meant to be, I guess. I miscarried again. Right at seven weeks. Actually, I started to miscarry just a few hours after having a sonogram that showed a healthy heartbeat and an embryo that measured just as it should. The cause is still a mystery, and I am doing what I can to get to a healthy place should we be given another child (and I am so fortunate to have the help of both an ob/gyn and midwife of the same faith and who understand charting so well). Whatever the reason, the baby still suddenly died.

This time, however, I didn’t go to such a dark place, and I actually have the energy and inclination to work through my feelings by sewing and quilting. With all of that in mind, I decided to hit up my flannel and baby fabric stash and start making blankets for women with at risk pregnancies, and perhaps Project Linus (I still need to look up details about donating to the crisis pregnancy centers).

Here are some ideas I worked through last night –

This flannel was all originally purchased to make diapers. I made a few and then stopped. If I have the chance to make diapers again, I totally know I’m not going to use what I have, and get all excited and just buy more, so this stuff HAS GOT TO GO.

I picked this out of a magazine I had from a few years ago. I didn’t want to make the same old Random Blocks of Scrap Fabric blanket I see over and over. I wanted the flannel ones to be a little more interesting, at least. But goodness I hate those fuzzy blankets, so I’m not going to do that with these.

Some rough ideas I had. I wanted to do a boy and a girl quilt. I’ve got so much dang pink I don’t know what to do with it. I tried to make the girl one pink, but I couldn’t bring myself to use more than one pink fabric. I hate pink 😦

The top left are my fabrics for the girl quilt, and on the right are my choices for the boy quilt. I’ll get better, more detailed pictures as I get started on them.

Sorry for such a bummer of a post! I promise I’m not a Debbie Downer 🙂

4 thoughts on “flannel stash busting quilts and a sad story

  1. Pingback: July has been so slow | thegoodsmeller

Leave a Reply

