It’s been a busy week and a half

Yay! I’ve got pictures this time! AND I’ve actually finished a few things. No major projects, but a few little ones.

I finally got my blocks for the livejournal block of the month group I’m in. I picked out the fabrics two weeks ago, and got them cut a few days later, but I’ve only just lately been able to sew them. I’m very pleased with the way these turned out. After all the distortion I caused with super aggressive pressing on the bargello quilt, I am learning to press more carefully (and pay more attention to the direction I press). I have also started setting the seams before I press. I don’t know if it’s making a difference, but I’ll keep doing it. I also took the time to measure my seams this time, and discovered one of my machines doesn’t stitch at exactly 1/4″, so I marked it on the machine and sewed these with the proper seam.

The one major issue with these blocks is that I made a super dumb mistake and CUT THE PIECES TOO BIG, so now these two blocks are a full 1/2″ larger on all sides than they are supposed to be. Since the first blocks are the proper size, and these are so much larger, I don’t know what to do. I guess I’ll wait until this series is done and go from there. I don’t just want to cut off all the extra, since my points are nicer, but maybe by the time I’m finished I won’t care as much because my points will be AWESOME.

(I forgot to mention, this is where I got the block)

Moving on, the next thing I finished, which I actually completed the construction weeks ago, is one of the flannel stash busting quilts I’ve come to loathe.

There are several reasons I didn’t like this quilt. First, I’m not a fan of pink and girly, but I have so much fabric, and I know there are plenty of little girls who LOVE this, so I went with it. Second, I did a terrible job of paying attention to my seams. This was originally supposed to be a rag quilt with 1/2″ seam allowances, but I only realized that partway in, and since I wasn’t doing a rag quilt, I had eyeballed the 1/4″ seams (this was before I measured and marked my machine), so then, instead of staying consistent, I did just stopped paying attention to seams altogether, so nothing matches up at all. Everything got all stretched and distorted as I sewed this, so that didn’t help either. The center square is puckered, and the seams don’t match in it’s corners, so borrowing from a book I recently read (called Quilty as Charged), I opted for goofy applique to cover some of the more glaring mistakes. I had also just recently, upon the advice of another, more experienced quilter, started following the free motion quilt blog by Leah Day, so I am using this quilt to practice a few really novice techniques. I guess one of the good things about having a quilt like this – one you make so many mistakes, one you don’t like very much – is that you learn a whole lot, and since you don’t have a lot of attachment, you can try new things without a lot of worry about how it looks. I haven’t finished the quilting with it all, but I plan to soon.

I’ve made zero progress on my other UFOs. This month is a total and complete failure on that front, and I’m a little ashamed of that. My etsy shop has been a lot busier than I anticipated, and I am so full of new and fresh quilting ideas that I worry if I don’t spend a little time on them, I’ll lose them (I’m reminded of a stack of fabric for a queen sized quilt that I haven’t cut yet, and a shipment of a beautiful line of Christmas fabrics that I fell in love with and decided I needed – still working on a design for that one). But I do have the projects out, and I will finish them at some point. Maybe the fall would be a better time for catching up on projects.

2 thoughts on “It’s been a busy week and a half

  1. Ahhh…the benefits of non-attachment. I’m still trying hard to learn that lesson. Thanks for sharing the quilt you’ve come to loathe. There are, sadly, many lessons to be learned from the things that didn’t go as planned but most people seem to only want to publish their success stories.

Leave a Reply

