Higgs Boson

I had started an entry a day or two ago with my completed Bargello – Nebula quilt, but I think I will postpone that for something a lot more awesome. Instead, I’m going to brag a little bit about my brother.

Me and my brother after his graduation in May 2012 (BS in Mathematics from UT Dallas), he starts his PhD work in physics this fall.

Today I got a very excited text at about 4am my time (around noon for him) from him tell me “They found it!!” This is so amazing and exciting for all of us because he’s there, at CERN this summer and is actually getting to meet and chat with some amazing physicists, including the great Peter Higgs.

My brother’s work there is not directly connect with the Higgs boson. He is instead working on hardware for the upgrade coming next year for the detectors, but still! To be there where amazing stuff is happening! This is by far one of the coolest things to happen to anyone I know.

My brother, Brandyn (far right) with Peter Higgs on July 4, 2012

I’m pretty excited to have a physicist in the family! Way to be awesome!

One thought on “Higgs Boson

Leave a Reply

