Trying to catch a breather

I’ve got a few ideas for some blog posts, but lately I haven’t had the energy to sit down and type it up. I’m still really busy with my shop, and I haven’t been finishing as many projects lately. I’ve also started playing World of Warcraft a bit with my husband again, and as any player would know, it can be a HUGE time suck.

First – I splurged and bought a new sewing machine for myself about a month ago. I really don’t need it for my shop; all of the extras that come with it will most likely be used for recreational purposes. I’ve never had all of these neat little stitches at my disposal! The first thing I did was fix a few of my knit skirts with the knit stitches (because I’ve never ever sewed knit and for some reason was afraid to try anything). I’m really looking forward to trying the tiny embroidery stitches and doing a little monogramming when I get the chance.

I’m taking yet another class at Joann’s. This time we are doing a disappearing nine patch, and we are stretching the class out over several weeks. I’ve got my blocks sewn, but not cut again. Instead of posting little bits here and there over the time it takes me to make it, I’ll do it all at once when I’m finished. I will, however, show you my fabrics!!

My original “theme” was going to be fall, but I saw these fabrics and even though they aren’t the normal rust/orange/dark green/brown that normally goes with fall, these made me think of fall and early winter. I think the ladies in my class are skeptical, but I think it’s going to turn out lovely. I’ve been looking for a reason to use a few of these for a while.

I’ll try to jump back on the posting wagon again. I’m just tired!

3 thoughts on “Trying to catch a breather

  1. Nice sewing machine. I also have a Singer and I’ve been super happy with it. I just wish I didn’t need to use a screw-driver to attach the walking foot. It’s such a PTIA that I make that change as infrequently as possible.

    • The screw driver thing doesn’t bother me too much. Then again, I haven’t done any machine quilting on my new machine yet. I think it’s silly that the universal foot isn’t also 1/4″, and that the piecing foot doesn’t allow for zigzag stitching, but I guess if they made feet multi purpose, they couldn’t charge for another one!

Leave a Reply

