a lot of nothing, mostly

In the past few days I’ve been sewing a good deal again. Not just a bit here and there for my shops, but actual recreational sewing. I’ve set up my laptop just behind my sewing machine so I can watch episodes of Midsomer Murders and Sherlock Holmes while I sew, and when I want to play World of Warcraft. I can just pull the laptop down onto my sewing cabinet, connect my mouse (and mic, if need be), and go on with it. That way I can do a bit of sewing on long flight paths if I want, since I just finished the book I was reading during that time.

Speaking of books, the book I just read as book #4 of the Outlander series, called Drums of Autumn, (I think, I bought it on my nook and so the only time I saw the title was when I purchased it). I enjoyed it a bit, although not as much as the previous book (oh, reunion of the lovers!!) and there were a few passages I took issue with, but on the whole my favorite character is still a good person, even if he’s got a wife and daughter who pull that “but you just don’t understand what it’s like being a woman!!” nonsense. I hate it when the “strong, independent” female character gets turned into “selfish and childish man hater”, because it’s not impossible to think a woman can both be strong and independently minded and still choose to follow her husband and treat him with respect. I could go on and on about this particular issue, but to be brief – raising your station as a woman in society and in the eyes of male members of your acquaintance does not mean push said men and men overall down and treat them badly.

Moving on! I do plan to read books 5-8 (8 is scheduled to come out sometime next year) but at the moment I will take a break, although I do feel a little heartbroken. Perhaps I shall restart the series, now that I know that some things end happily and I don’t need to cry.

Back to sewing and crafts – I finally finished the cathedral window pillow case and will have a picture up in a few days. I’ve also finished two each of the last two month’s block of the month and will also post photographs of that as well.

I don’t plan on doing any sewing for Christmas gifts. Promising or planning something like that almost guarantees I won’t finish it in time.

A few days ago I went to the State Fair of Texas and had a lovely time. I am considering posting pictures on here, but the quality is very poor, so I am not sure.

One thought on “a lot of nothing, mostly

  1. I fwish I had the luxury of watching something while sewing. I moved the machine into the livingroom to finish up projects at Christmas. I liked it, very much, but there wasn’t enough room to keep it there.

Leave a Reply

