In between quilts. My son turned 4. Where has the time gone?

I want to start this post off by wishing my sweet boy a happy (belated) birthday. FOUR whole years old! I’m amazed at how *old* four years seems. He is just starting to learn letter sounds and put them together. He is doing well with adding and subtracting. He is quite the capable helper around the house (when he wants to be). Why, just today he decided he needed to “work” and, using the screwdriver from a real tool kit we got him some time ago, he unscrewed all the intake vents throughout the house! They needed to be cleaned, anyway…

Fries-1 (1)It is really a  joy to be his mother. We have ups and downs, but he’s four and I’m still human. This “mom” job is so much better than anything I ever imagined.

Then there is that other guy I’m mother too. Tomorrow Yuri will be 8 months old.

Yuri and the Quesadilla

Yuri and the Quesadilla

Even at just 8 months, he’s already quite the force to be reckoned with. I knew that he would be different, but it’s still shocking just *how* different he is already from his brother. For one thing, the temper.

The bubbles were touching him.

The bubbles were touching him.

He’s much more emotional than Kostya, and much needier. I can’t be out of his sight or he’s inconsolable. Kostya was a bit more independent and to this day no one is a stranger, whereas Yuri definitely has his favorite and not so favorite people. He’s only just now warming up to his Papa, and will stand to snuggle for more than half a second while I go to get something done. But, like his brother, physically he is quite capable. He crawled before seven months and is currently standing and cruising along anything he can climb to standing. I would not be surprised if he walks soonish.

Anyway, on to quilting! I feel like I’ve been really busy with it lately, but I don’t have a whole lot to show for progress. I’ve been practicing my free motion quilting, and thanks to Cindy Needham’s classes on craftsy.com, I think I’ve got the tools to do very well. However, my first attempts are… lacking.

oh boy

oh boy

It looks better from far away, I promise. And the filler for the outside surrounding this stencil is pretty terrible. I did learn a lot, so this piece isn’t a total failure. I learned that variegated thread is not always a good idea, and that I really need to plan how I’m going to follow my stencil lines if I am using one, because I did a lot of up and down with the needle on this one and you can totally tell.

That brings me to this piece.
12467130604_8bf75b2670_bIt’s hard to take pictures of quilting, but I used a stencil in the center of this block, and then did close repeating lines around it. I’m happy with it and think the finished product will be nice when I get around to finishing it. Right now I cannot because after fussing with the machine setup I decided I really needed to break down a get a table that the sewing surface can rest flush with the table so I’m not fighting gravity the whole time. I made a lot of mistakes because of that. The etsy shop has been really slow lately, so I don’t know when I will have the funds for the table. Every time I think I do, something breaks or an expense comes up (isn’t that the way of it? This month our washer broke and we need to replace it. The joys of homeownership) and there goes the money.

I’m itching to get to sewing, though. I have several quilts in my brain, but I don’t know which to focus on. I have a few that have been requested from friends and family, but I know I do not have the fabric for those (my stash is actually quite small), and won’t for some time (see previous paragraph), so I have to stick with what I’ve got. I have several boxes and bags with fabrics and patterns already picked out and organized, so the logical choice is to make one of those. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

