What I’m currently working on

Now that I’ve finished ONE project that’s been in the works for a few years, I’m able to start on a few others.

Two of them I’ve gotten no further than just making fabric choices. One is for my mother. She requested something simple and traditional, using only lavender and gray. I had originally thought I’d use the purples from the Downton Abbey line from Andover, but a few months ago at a quilt show in Dallas I found a bundle of cream, gray and lilac batiks that just spoke to me. Since I couldn’t find any prints that went with the batiks I opted to go totally batik and picked up a few more from fabric.com. The pattern I’ve decided on is an oversized Carpenter’s Star.

14432656122_35e0bb6212_b

I’m not a big fan of really saturated and bright batiks, but these more muted colors are lovely, and I’m really looking forward to getting started on this. I *hope* to have this done for Christmas, but that’s just six months away and I have two other gift quilts that have to be done in that time, as well as making several small projects for gifts.

Another project that I’ve got to get started on is a baby quilt for my dear friend at Lattes and Rainy Days for baby #3, their second son. I “met” Kirsten in October of 2010, after she called into a radio show on EWTN (Catholic radio station) to ask for prayers for her first son, Ewan, who was born with some complex heart defects. I followed her blog, and came to know her through that and other social media. My heart broke into a million pieces when Ewan passed, and ever since then she and I have shared letters and texts and emails and I so want to give her something to share in the joy of this new baby. I don’t have the talent for words like she does to tell her how special I think her family is, so hopefully this quilt will convey a part of my feelings.

I haven’t ironed out the final plan, but I’ve decided on this color scheme, and I think I want to attempt something much more modern than I’ve ever done, with lots of negative space and very simple straight line quilting.
14440173676_5e03779d1b_bThat’s Kona Espresso in the background, with various blue prints I’ve got in my stash (you’ll see some solids in the stack, but I don’t think I will use those).

I’m all linked up here!

Molli Sparkles

 

One thought on “What I’m currently working on

Leave a Reply

