The wedding quilt is done!

With two weeks to spare!

Even though I’m feeling some quilt fatigue (you know, when you have been working on a quilt on and off for a while, so the novelty and excitement you got from cutting into the fabric and trying a new pattern has completely gone?), but I still really like this quilt.

Here are a few different angles of the quilt after it was all completed

The pictures on the left are prewashing, and the pictures on the right are post washing. I don’t typically prewash any of my fabric before I cut into it because I like that it’s a bit crisper, and I like the crinkly look of a quilt after I wash it when it’s completed. Plus, for a quilt that’s intended for on the couch snuggling, I wanted to make sure there weren’t any leftover residues from dyes or marking pens or anything.

I went for really simple feathers in the colored areas

and a slightly more complicated stencil in the white

The back

The whole process for this quilt was quite enjoyable. There were a few times when I felt bogged down because I hadn’t decided on the quilting I thought would work best, but once I solved those problems it was smooth sailing. I tried some new techniques, like using a piece of plexi to audition some quilting motifs before committing and marking the quilt.

I used the pattern and ruler from Sew Kind of Wonderful, called Metro Medallions using the Quick Curve Ruler, and I was really, really please. It was simple to use, I had no problems piecing the curves, and whenever I had a question there were tutorials readily available. The ladies are also pretty easy to reach on Instagram as well! I look forward to making another of their patterns someday.

I’ll leave you with a few process pictures.

..And that’s another finish for my quarterly link up!

3 thoughts on “The wedding quilt is done!

Leave a Reply

