Swap progress, and a finish!

It’s been quiet on the blog,  but not at all in my house or my sewing area!

After I finished the high-stress wedding quilt, I took a little breather for a few days before jumping into new projects. That quilt was so much fun to do, and I was so happy with it, but it hung over my head for a good long time, and so having it completed was a huge weight, and I wanted to bask in the Don’t Have Any Project Timelines feeling for a bit.

But that time is over, and now I need to get started on some new projects. I’ve signed up for two swaps. One is a mini quilt swap called the Spring Fling Mini quilt swap on Instagram (where I find out about all my swaps, because as much as I’d like to, I just can’t keep up with blogs regularly). The next is a Tea Lovers Mug Rug swap, which I’m actually a little nervous about. I’ve made mug rugs, but my partner, at least according to the mosaics she’s posted on IG, has much, much different tastes, not only in regard to fabric choices but quilt preferences. Every one of her example pictures has fancy applique, and I have never, ever done applique and I don’t want to use this as a first for it. I’ll need to think on it a bit more. At least a mug rug is small and fairly quick, although I don’t quite know what I’ll do for extras at the moment.

The Spring Fling Mini is a little more straightforward. My partner was clear on her interests, and thank goodness I already had fabric of her favorite designer. She loves Bonnie and Camille, so I am putting together a granny square mini made of several of the fabrics from the April Showers line. I’ve got most of them cut, but not photographed.

Another new project is for the Sew My Stash 2015 challenge this month. The theme this time is using up some of our precuts. I decided to use my Winter’s Lane layer cake bundle to make a little Christmas throw quilt for our couch. It’s super simple – just mostly random placed fabrics in a chevron design, but I think it will look really nice in our living room. I need to get cracking if I’m to finish the top by the first week of March, though!

And now for my finish! Do you remember YEARS ago when I started working on some placemats? Well, they are DONE. Six placemats, all bound and now in use.



I’m actually really happy to finally have some placemats, and even two years later, I still love the colors on these. Green, gray, blue and orange are probably one of my favorite combinations.

Oh, and I nearly forgot to mention, I’ve also decided to join a quilt-a-long for spring. The pattern we will all be using is Alison Glass’ Timber pattern.

First, let me just say, I love this pattern. I love how bold and geometric it is, and I think it will make an amazing quilt for my husband. I’m also really excited about how customizable it is. I plan on making mine completely symmetrical. I’ve been wanting to make this quilt since I saw it, and a QAL is a perfect chance to do so. My fabric choices are going to be a lot darker.

Sorry this is such an ugly mock-up, but it’s just a general idea to work from when I get started. The main fabric will be black, with various grays and taupe making up the stripes, accented with Jennifer Sampou’s Shimmer  line in place of the brights.

I’d like to make it queen size as well, so we can put it on our bed. I already have the wool batting (I’ve never used wool before, but it feels luscious!). My hope is that this will turn out, for lack of a better way of describing it, very “dwarfy”, as in fantasy/Tolkein/World of Warcraft dwarf, because my husband loves them and I love the design in the fantasy architecture and armor.

Linking back to the link up page!

2 thoughts on “Swap progress, and a finish!

Leave a Reply

