Just some thoughts

I’ve been thinking a bit lately about my internet usage, particularly social media, and I think it’s time for a change. It’s taken however long facebook, twitter, and all those other social media outlets have been around for me to really come to this (I’m a slow learner), but I really don’t think the internet is a safe place. Not for thoughts or opinions, or anything really personal. Sure, some people navigate it all really well and even make money off of it. People can keep in touch and have so much information readily available. I guess I need to amend my opinion to say, “*I* don’t feel very safe on the internet’.

I thought for a while I might get used to the different ways people communicate through the internet, but I haven’t, and I don’t like how people seem to change online (myself included). In person,  I am not confrontational. I like smiles and easy conversation, but online, especially over things I feel passionate about, I tend to get really confrontational, brash, and I say things in ways that aren’t exactly loving or respectful. I don’t like it. That isn’t *me* and that isn’t how I want to be remembered or known.

Likes, shares and comments feel great when you get them, but they can’t be why I do something or why I share it. I’ve been so immersed in the internet that sometimes I forget that yes, I can do somewhere, do something, or make something, not share it online, and yes, it still happened. 

The way people communicate in person is still “the real way”. Yes, more of everything is moving to the internet, but if I don’t participate in most of it, I’m really not going to miss out on life. I can still have friends and hobbies. I won’t have to worry about the stress of something about my life being misinterpreted, over examined, ridiculed, or criticized. No, I’m not going off the grid completely, but I think my resolve to stay off certain areas is a little more solidified, and I’m rethinking what aspects of myself I *would* like to share with the world.

Leave a Reply

